The Recycle Bin

A repository of comments, code, and opinions.

Easy Blogging – Windows Only

with 4 comments

Windows Live Writer is easy to use application that allows you to publish rich content to any web blog.  Designed specifically for Windows Spaces blogs, it works flawlessly with almost any other blogger service.  It provides WYSIWYG formatting, images uploading, Live Maps, and an open SDK.  Its design allows for plug-ins and there are already three available.

Of course, it is not without it’s problems.  Currently, the program is still in beta, so you will encounter some strange errors from time to time.  That being said, I have never lost a post, or encountered an error that had an sort of adverse affect on my blog.  Also, the program allows for images to be uploaded directly your blog of choice, provided they support the newMediaObject API.  Apparently, Blogger.com does not support this, which is unfortunate.  Thankfully the writers of this application have included FTP image uploading. 

I’ve giving this a test run, and so far it’s been good.  Simple, strait forward, and no horrific bugs.

Windows Live Writer – Beta

Written by Nathan

April 23, 2007 at 12:15 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

Tagged with ,

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. i assume you are using this software to run this blog? please clarify. i am always looking for ways to make blogging less strnuous for my lazy side. which is every side.

    brother novs

    April 23, 2007 at 6:00 pm

  2. Yes I am using this to blog. Atleast for a little while to try it out. It works well with WordPress, but like I said, image uploading in Blogger is a little tough. For that, I just upload my images to Picasa Web, and then paste the html into this program. The part I like the most about the program is that I can write draft posts, save them and work on them a while before publishing, but I’m sure there’s another free app somewhere that does the same thing.

    Nathan

    April 24, 2007 at 12:31 am

  3. Well, I’m going to try it out. Did you notice that it works with Firefox entension ‘blog this”?

    brother novs

    April 25, 2007 at 4:31 am

  4. […] 11, 2008 · No Comments I blogged about Live Writer back when I started this site and I’ve been using it the whole time.  It has treated me well and I think it’s one of the […]


Leave a Reply

